Be Well

Because that is what you were born to be!

What Did I See?

Leave a comment

obamaWhat did I see?

 

When I saw him as a person,

I saw decency and authenticity.

 

When I saw him as a politician,

I saw a craftsman proficient at his craft.

 

When I saw him as a statesman,

I saw a pragmatist who made bets with a long-term view.

 

When I saw him as an executive,

I saw many successes and, a few, failures.

 

When I saw him as a preacher,

I saw a man who was honest about what he preached.

 

When I saw him as a student,

I saw a seeker who was curious and ready to learn.

 

When I read his writings,

I saw an introspective and thoughtful soul.

.

When I saw a consoler-in-chief,

I saw a man caught by surprise by his own humanity.

 

When I saw him as an orator,

I saw a charismatic man able to stir his audience.

 

When I saw him as a husband,

I saw a man proudly enriched by a strong and intelligent wife.

 

When I saw him as a father,

I saw devotion to his family.

 

When I saw him as a human,

I saw a kind man who was also arrogantly confident.

 

When I saw him as the man next door,

I saw somebody who I liked,

but more importantly,

who I would have liked to be.

 

And that is the precise reason why I will miss him!

 

Thank you for just being you, Mr. Barack Obama!

Leave a Reply

